Board of County Commissioners



Okeechobee County

OKEECHOBEE COUNTY EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT 707 NW 6th Street, Okeechobee, Florida 34972 Phone: 863-763-3212 Fax 863-763-4565

Public Safety Director: Earl Wooten Media Contact: Denise Whitehead, Public Information Officer <u>dwhitehead@okeechobeecountyfl.gov</u> 863-697-0123 Release: MILTON7-101024-500PM

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Okeechobee County Advisory on HURRICANE MILTON

As of Thursday, October 10, at 5:00 P.M. Okeechobee County has these important updates:

Okeechobee County, with the assistance of the Florida Army National Guard, is providing food, water, and tarps to residents who have been seriously impacted by Hurricane Milton, including those without power or water or those with roof damage to their homes.

Supplies will be distributed tomorrow, Friday, October 11th, from 8:00 AM to 7:00 PM, or until supplies run out, at the Okeechobee County Agri-Civic Center at 4601 FI 710 E. Please enter the Agri-Civic Center through the FI 710 entrance.

CORRECTION from previous release: Okeechobee County Public Schools will reopen Tuesday, 10/<u>15</u>/24.

A DISASTER RECOVERY INFORMATION CALL LINE will be open on Friday 10/11/24 at 863-763-3536 10:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. and will continue daily Tuesday through Saturday.

For continued updates follow us on: Facebook: Okeechobee Emergency-Management or Okeechobee County Government; Okeechobee County Website: okeechobeecountyfl.gov

###

To report an ADA accessibility issue, request accessibility assistance regarding our website content, or to request a specific electronic format, County Administrator's Office, Okeechobee County Board of County Commissioners, 304 NW 2nd Street, Room 123, Okeechobee, FL 34972. Direct Phone No.: 863-763-6441 ext.1. or you may email at: trowland@okeechobeecountyfl.gov. We will make reasonable efforts to accommodate all needs.

David Hazellief District 1 Frank DeCarlo District 2 Bradley G. Goodbread District 3

Terry W. Burroughs District 4 Kelly Owens District 5