Board of County Commissioners



Okeechobee County

OKEECHOBEE COUNTY EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT 707 NW 6th Street, Okeechobee, Florida 34972 Phone: 863-763-3212 Fax 863-763-4565

Public Safety Director: Earl Wooten Media Contact: Denise Whitehead, Public Information Officer <u>dwhitehead@okeechobeecountyfl.gov</u> 863-697-0123 Release: MILTON4-100824-6PM

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Okeechobee County Advisory on HURRICANE MILTON

As of Tuesday, October 8, at 6:00 P.M. Okeechobee County has these important updates:

- **Residents should complete all storm preparations no later than early Wednesday Morning.** Okeechobee County is currently under a HURRICANE WARNING and FLOOD WATCH.
- OKEECHOBEE UTILITY AUTHORITY: OUA has issued a Boil Water Advisory beginning Wednesday 10/9/24 at 8:00 a.m. until further notice. The OUA offices will be closed until 12:00 p.m. Thursday 10/10/24.
- CITY OF OKEECHOBEE Offices will be closed on Wednesday and Thursday.
- SFWMD: All Navigational Boat Locks are closed until Friday 10/11/24
- GENERATOR SAFETY: Keep generators at least 20 feet from your home with 3-4 feet of clear space above and all sides for proper ventilation. Never operate a generator in an enclosed space.
- A Community INFORMATION CALL LINE is available at 863-824-6888 and will continue as needed daily from 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.

For continued updates follow us on: Facebook: Okeechobee Emergency-Management or Okeechobee County Government; Okeechobee County Website: okeechobeecountyfl.gov

###

To report an ADA accessibility issue, request accessibility assistance regarding our website content, or to request a specific electronic format, County Administrator's Office, Okeechobee County Board of County Commissioners, 304 NW 2nd Street, Room 123, Okeechobee, FL 34972. Direct Phone No.: 863-763-6441 ext.1. or you may email at: trowland@okeechobeecountyfl.gov. We will make reasonable efforts to accommodate all needs.

David Hazellief District 1 Frank DeCarlo District 2

Bradley G. Goodbread District 3

Terry W. Burroughs District 4 Kelly Owens District 5